Skip to main content
-A A +A

IPR Logo




Minister for PHED, Jacob Zhimomi inaugurated Niuland District on 28th June 2022 at Niuland Public Ground.

Zhimomi in his address to the citizens of Niuland district acknowledged Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio and the four other legislators from erstwhile Dimapur district, without whom the long-cherished dreams of Niuland District wouldn't be possible. While acknowledging his counterparts, Zhimomi said the three districts- Niuland, Chumoukedima, and Dimapur are similar to Delhi NCR and suggested that only close coordination among them will usher development in the districts. He described Niuland District as the land of diversity that possesses huge potential for rapid socio-eco growth.

Remembering the pioneers, Zhimomi said that the early settlers were the visionary leaders who faced tremendous challenges and many of whom have sacrificed their lives for the present generation, he also thanked the former legislators who have represented the district starting from 1964 till date.

Meanwhile, Advisor Sericulture, Excise, and Minority Affairs, Zhaleo Rio described the day as a Red-letter day for Niuland citizens. He described Niuland district as the land of Milk & Honey, having huge potential for fast growth. He also reminded the citizens not to only depend on the government developments and urged the citizens, especially the Elite groups from the district to start investing in their capacities and suggested that any development in the district should not be hampered by any organizations or Naga national workers.

Rovilatuo Mor IAS Commissioner Nagaland stated that Niuland district is the center of communication in the state and that the district can become the economic hub of the state. He cautioned the people that the natural resources should not be compromised by the external agencies/ corporations for our short-term gain and appealed to the citizens to cooperate with the district administration to take the new district forward.

Others who spoke on the occasion are Shikaho Zhimomi, President WSH; Jepitoshe L Jakha President NDGBA. Ngukato Chishi Chairman KGKK; Vikato Achumi, President KTKK. Sheyipu Zhimomi, President AAGBA. Tokishe Zhimomi, Chairman NAKK. President Yimkhiung tribe Old Showuba. 

While Dedicatory prayer was done by Rev. Dr. Phughoto Sema, Executive Secretary WSBAK. Sara S Jamir, Deputy Commissioner Niuland presented the welcome address and vote of thanks by T. Lemlila Sangtam, ADC Niuland. The programme was chaired by Imlijungla Lemtur, EAC Aghunaqha.


(Vihepu IA Niuland)